Thanksgiving “Indian” Garland

I was planning to be productive around the house today (check out the load of laundry I need to fold),

Image

but after my three-year old threw an incredible, ungodly, humiliating tantrum at the park at the end of his preschool class play-date today, I decided to indulge myself and spend some time creating cards and posting about my latest craft project, instead.  It’s “me time,” folks.  #justgladI’mnotdrinking

My mom recently put her own Etsy business on hold (she makes GORGEOUS, handmade baby bedding) and she had quite a few fabric scraps that she gifted to me.  I loved this line from Sarah Watson for Art Gallery fabrics–it’s called “Indian Summer,” and it plays on some beautiful hues as well as the super-hot trend of woodland and native prints.  I am sadly short on Thanksgiving decor, and thought that this fabric would make a lovely addition to my (very small) collection.

977_indian_summer_fat_quarter_bundle_in_mystic_mountain

So yesterday morning, while my baby bean took his (quickly fading away) morning nap, my bean sprout sat with me on the bed while I cut this lovely fabric into bands about one-inch thick.  He desperately wanted to know what the project would be (would it include dripping glue and cutting paper into tiny bits???  Please, oh please, would it?).  Later in the evening, we sat side by side while he cut paper into tiny bits and sloppily glued them to my not-cheap computer paper (but he was having FUUUUUN!) and I completed my Thanksgiving Indian garland.

ImageImageImage

Here’s how to do it (all craft projects completed in my home take under an hour and cost very little money, as we have two small children who are eating us out of house and home)

You will need:
5-6 varieties of coordinating fabric (about a half yard each)
a length of jute twine (mine was about 4 feet long, I think)
scissors
a window with ugly blinds that you want to somewhat cover

To do:
cut fabric into strips about one inch wide and six to ten inches long
cut twine to desired length and knot ends (or create loops for hanging)
take 2-3 pieces of the same print fabric, and lay the “wrong” sides together (the patterns should be facing outward)

Image
tie them in a knot on the twine, then pinch the knot together and slide the fabric toward one end of the jute twine
repeat, until the length of twine is filled
hang garland!

Leave a Reply

